Pouring

A couple of words on weather.

DISCLAIMER: There will be more than literally two.

I got thinking about the weather as I cycled back to the house in torrential rain with my glasses on, covered with 3D dribbles and speckles of water and I felt like Harry Potter in the Prisoner of Azkaban playing Quidditch apart from the journey did not end with me being attacked by a Dementor, falling out of the sky off my broom and waking up in hospital to discover my broomstick had been destroyed by a tree. I just got really wet and some funny looks for singing the music from this scene in the film out loud to myself in lieu of a live orchestra. I thought as a means of dealing with this I might write a couple of words on weather and hopefully full recovery will ensue.

So, two key pieces of information: ‘Weather is a state of mind’ and ‘There is no such thing as bad weather, just inappropriate clothing’. As for the latter, I must admit I would find it hard to preach this to a family caught up in a tornado, but perhaps more generally it is a reasonable suggestion. Regarding weather as a state of mind, I believe this is to a large extent true. THAT’S RIGHT. I have previously kept this belief on the quiet as it is something that my dad always says and we all know how inappropriate it feels to agree with parents on such philosophical matters, particularly when you have disagreed fervently in the past. Anyway, if my dad’s reading this (send me a postcard!) then he will be rewarded with the self-satisfaction and smugness of winning my agreement. If he isn’t then he misses out doubly and I might wait until I’ve written something else unseemly about body hair or whatever before mentioning he might want to take a look at this page.

Basically, I challenge anyone who does not believe that a person can be warm, that their smile can radiate sunlight and that words can actually cut like icy spears of hail to come and have a chat with me and I shall attempt to prove you wrong. Although admittedly these things, similes I guess, aren’t states of mind but the point is we can impose  weather-like states upon our behaviour and how we view and receive other people’s behaviour.

I could go into this in more detail and try to properly analyse all the vocabulary used and give specific examples but to be honest that would be rather dull I reckon and in fact I really ought to be writing about Schumann, so I reckon I’ll just leave it with the key point:

SMILE– it’s as good as the sun!

Right, it actually totally isn’t, smiling won’t change the climate, make plants grow or light up the earth but the point is you can always try and have a sunny disposition and it will almost certainly brighten your day and other peoples.

Now I actually should write about Schumann…

2 thoughts on “Pouring

  1. I must say I agree completely with you on weather being just a state of mind and there being no such thing as bad weather- something I like to repeat when the weather is less than ideal is “Whether the weather be hot, or whether the weather be not, we’ll weather the weather, whatever the weather- whether we like it or not!”

  2. Your father has read it and is delighted by your conversion. He is less thrilled by the recurrence of the split infinitive – I have told you about this before! Now, to quote from the ultimately reliable source that is Wikipedia; A split infinitive is an English-language grammatical construction in which a word or phrase, usually an adverb or adverbial phrase, comes between the marker to and the bare infinitive (uninflected) form of a verb.
    NOW PLEASE DON’T DO IT AGAIN

Feel free to contribute to the discussion by typing in the Box Below

