What is that mysterious hiccuping noise?

Well, it was me. In fact it’s always me.

For a few years now I have had sporadic bouts of hiccups, sometimes one individually, sometimes a few and sometimes constantly for hours until my throat feels raw. Now, normally people find it quite entertaining, which is good, particularly as I can’t exactly help it. However I can understand why it could be slightly irritating in an exam. All I can say is that I hope it punctuated any potential moments of despair that anyone sitting particularly terrifying papers had and made them realise that they weren’t alone, because I was there too, hiccuping. However, they probably already realised that they weren’t alone as the hall was full of people. My positive spin feels less plausible now. Oh well.

Most days at Magdalen I have a Harry Potter moment where I am doing something relatively mundane but in my mind use the magical surroundings to put myself in a scene from Harry Potter. For example, today I was putting on a bit of a jog as to avoid being late for the exam. However in my head my cloak was swishing and swooshing around behind and my notebook and pens were actually a stack of hefty tomes including The Standard Book of Spells (Grade 1) by Miranda Goshawk and A Beginner’s Guide to Transfiguration by Emeric Switch and as I dashed round the corner and sped into the room Minerva McGonagall would be greet me asking if she should transform me into a pocket-watch…or perhaps a map. What actually happened was that I tripped up the first step to the hall in my ‘Mock Martens’ (they look like Docs but aren’t) and dropped by belongings. Which did not include textbooks by either Switch or Goshawk. 

In other news it is a beautiful day today in Oxford and it is so nice I was so excited and actually left the exam a couple of times to go to the toilet…and then jump around a bit and dance in the sun. I figured I might as well. I just was full of sunshiney energy and I figured that after the hiccuping, dancing would probably be even more frowned upon.

Anyway, I ought to do some reading or something now.

Feel free to contribute to the discussion by typing in the Box Below

